Next Game: Pre-Season Friendly - Melksham Town Away on Saturday 7th July

Sunday, November 25, 2007

Millwall will be a tough challenge for Young Bulls

Tomorrow evening's FA Youth Cup game against Millwall will be a tough challenge for the young Bulls. The game takes place at Edgar Street with a 7pm start. Admission for Adults is £3 with concessions at just £1.

The Youth team will start tomorrow's game with most of the squad that were thumped yesterday by Wycombe in the Youth Alliance Cup. After such a disappointing display the two coaches, Gary Stephens and Colin Williams, ordered them in at 10am this morning, not for extra training as they were expecting but to go through the many problems they encountered in yesterday's 8-0 defeat.

Although the Young Bulls faced a strong Wycombe side who had beaten them by the same scoreline in the first game of the group stage they had high hopes of running them close after finishing second to them in the group. This was not to be they were a goal down in a minute and three down in nine minutes, game over.

Hopefully the watching Millwall scout went away with a false impression. Millwall were without a game yesterday and called their game with Charlton off last week. The season so far has been difficult for them, but their fixture list looks a lot different to the Hereford Youth team with the likes of Chelsea, West Ham, Ipswich and Southampton all well respected Youth Development Clubs. Millwall's pre match meeting is scheduled for the Three Counties Hotel whereas Hereford's will be at Holme Lacy College Canteen.

The money spent on Millwall's Youth Team is a great deal more than Hereford's with full time coaches, scholarships and administration to support them, at least the Hereford lads get a better quality education.

Hereford will need to be at their best to gain anything out of the game and start as underdogs, however, as Colin Williams says, "it's a funny old game" and the young Bulls go into the game with high hopes.

The Hereford squad:
Liam Brewer, Kai Bond, Jimmy Moreton, Adam Bendall, Jamie Cuthbertson, Gareth Thomas, Sam Harrison, Stephen Smith, Bobby Terrett, Craig Jones, Tom Cartwright, Tyler Weir, Martin Lott, Chris Freddi.